NWS to host Skywarn event at North Webster office

      No Comments on NWS to host Skywarn event at North Webster office

The Northern Indiana Weather Forecast Office (WFO) of the National Weather Service plans to host amateur radio operations at its facility near North Webster December 2 and 3 for the agency’s annual Skywarn Recognition Day. The 24-hour special event begins at 0000 UTC Saturday, December 3 (7 p.m. ET Friday, December 2) and ends at 2359 UTC (6:59 p.m. ET) December 3. Thus, Skywarn Recognition Day is a 24-hour day in UTC.

Kosciusko County ARES Emergency Coordinator Brian Sexton, KD9EDR, is coordinating special event station operations at the WFO. He is looking for hams to assist with setup from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. ET December 2, operations during the period described above, and tear-down at 7 p.m. ET December 3.
Three operators are needed to volunteer for each hour of the 24-hour on-air operation; one each to operate two HF stations and one to operate an IRLP station.

To limit the number of people at the WFO, operators must register for shifts in advance. To do so, send email to kd9edr@arrl.net in which you provide your name, call sign, contact information and a list of the shifts you’d like to fill, including setup, tear-down and operating shifts. For example, you could offer to operate from 11 p.m. Friday night to 1 a.m. Saturday morning, if that fits your schedule.

All licensed amateur radio operators who live anywhere in the 37-county area served by the Northern Indiana WFO are welcome to register.

Shifts will be assigned on a first come, first served basis, so Brian will reply to your email with confirmation of when you can operate.

Contact Brian with any questions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.