ARRL officially announces section manager election results

ARRL sent the following information via email today:

ARLB010 Four New ARRL Section Managers Elected

ARRL Bulletin 10 ARLB010
From ARRL Headquarters
Newington CT May 21, 2014
To all radio amateurs

ARLB010 Four New ARRL Section Managers Elected

Four new ARRL Section Managers will take office on July 1. Ballots were counted May 20 at ARRL HQ for contested races in the spring SM election cycle.

In Indiana, Joseph Lawrence, K9RFZ, of Fort Wayne, received 652 votes to top incumbent Section Manager Lou Everett Sr, WA5LOU, of Cumberland, who polled 482 votes. Everett has been SM for the past 2 years.

Lawrence previously served as Indiana’s Section Emergency Coordinator, as Allen County ARES Emergency Coordinator, and District 3 DEC. He is currently the Allen County RACES Radio Officer and IDHS Digital Amateur Radio Advisory Council facilitator. An aerospace and physics professional, he’s also taught numerous Technician license classes.

In Maine, Bill Crowley, K1NIT, received 258 votes, to defeat veteran incumbent Section Manager Bill Woodhead, N1KAT, who got 156 votes.
Woodhead has served as Maine’s SM since 1998.

Crowley, of Farmingdale, is currently Assistant Section Manager and Public Information Coordinator, and he was a former State Government Liaison. He’s the president of the Augusta Amateur Radio Association, a past president of the Yankee Amateur Radio Club, and chair of the WinterFest and Windsor Hamfest.

In Northern Florida, Stephen Szabo, WB4OMM, polled 833 votes to 296 votes cast for Gary Alberstadt, KA3FZO, of Monticello. A retired Daytona Beach Police captain, Szabo, of Port Orange, is currently the Northern Florida Section Emergency Coordinator and District Emergency Coordinator as well as an instructor/mentor and a DXCC/WAS/VUCC card checker.

Current Northern Florida SM Paul Eakin, KJ4G, decided not to run for a new term of office after serving since 2008.

In Delaware, Bill Duveneck, KB3KYH, of Milton, received 142 votes to defeat Jerome Palmer, N3KRX, of Houston, who got 122 votes. Duveneck has been Delaware’s ARRL Emergency Coordinator since 2009, and a Volunteer Examiner of the ARRL and Laurel VECs. He is a past president of the Sussex Amateur Radio Association and chaired the
2012-2013 Delmarva Hamfest. He has developed and manages SARA’s weekend ham radio licensing classes.

Outgoing SM Frank Filipkowski, AD3M, of Wilmington, who has served as SM in Delaware since 2006, did not run for a new term. Because candidates in Delaware had to be resolicited for this nomination/election cycle, Duveneck’s term of office will be 18 months instead of 24 months.

Five incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face opposition and were declared elected for new 2-year terms beginning on July 1: Tom Ciciora, KA9QPN (Illinois); Everett Curry, W6ABM (Oregon); Brandon Bianchi, NI6C (Santa Clara Valley); Paul Gayet, AA1SU (Vermont), and Gary Sorensen, W9ULK (Wisconsin).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.